Don’t Wait For Me

She thinks she can make a mess of my life with this ashamed lie,
Well if she gets what she wants I’ll just drop these pills till I die.
Even though your vision was blurred,
And your speech was slurred,
You know what went down that night.
You know what’s right.
Keep playing your crestfallen game,
But no matter the moves, the truth will remain the same.
They can pack me up, and ship me away,
And with just one word, you could tell them to let me stay.

If one day I’m gone without warning,
Don’t wait up, I’ll be dead by morning.
Remember to tell them my story.
Tell them I lived my life boldly.
Never forget who I really was,
And don’t believe all the fiction & buzz.
They say “only the strong survive”,
So how weak would it make me if tomorrow I’m no longer alive?

I may never see any of you again,
Nothing is okay and I will not pretend.
If fate brutally rips us apart,
You will forever be in my heart.
I’ll hold on tight to these memories of us,
Even if my life crumbles into dust.
I will hold on to my life here as long as I can,
Because I may never see any of you again.

If one day I’m gone without warning,
Don’t wait up, I’ll be dead by morning.
Remember to tell them my story.
Tell them I lived my life boldly.
Never forget who I really was,
And don’t believe all the fiction & buzz.
They say “only the strong survive”,
So how weak would it make me if tomorrow I’m no longer alive?

~ by Jake Wilcocks on August 2, 2011.

11 Responses to “Don’t Wait For Me”

  1. […] Jake.ox: https://jakeox.wordpress.com/2011/08/02/dont-wait-for-me/ […]

  2. amazing poetry, make a contribution to poets rally today.

  3. This is awesome but don’t take the pills. Who will write such a beautiful poetry, otherwise 🙂

    • thank you very much! this poem is a few years old, based on an accusation from a girl. but in the context of drugs, i am completely clean and sober now, and loving life!

  4. smart word play.

    glad to see you in,

    as a first time participant, you may wish to explore as many poets as possible, thanks.

  5. full of emotion.. very nice!

  6. Liked your poem. Glad the light at the end of the tunnel wasn’t a train.
    Keep writing.

  7. neat.

  8. Wow. Powerful stuff brother. I really like the repeating chorus-like stanza, it makes it kinda musical. I’m glad you found me so I could find you. keep on keepin on

  9. Walking in a dark place? Keep writing it out.

Leave a Reply

 
