Unfed

I have this itch in my head,
and it’s dying to be fed.
It’s saying “go on, get up,
get out of this bed.”
“But I have nothing to do
& not a dime to spend,
not to mention
nobody I can truly call a friend.
So that’s it,
I’m out,”
I said.
And as I lay here,
my itch will go unfed,
reminding me that I’m too afraid to live
and that I might as wellย be dead.

~ by Jake Wilcocks on July 26, 2011.

20 Responses to “Unfed”

  1. Wonderfully charming!

  2. lovely word play.
    enjoyed its elegance.

    ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Been there. Felt that. Immensely.

  4. sad, well put.

    Happy Rally.

  5. The troeubled soul comes to the surface in this. Well done.

    http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2011/10/05/treasure/

  6. It reminds me of an addict and it makes me sad. Great writing…

  7. A true and disturbing story.

    Larry

  8. Great use of rhyme. Well written poem.

    Here is my entry:
    http://jackedwardspoetry.blogspot.com/2011/10/everyone.html

  9. Yikes! No shit eh? But…that creative being needs to write about all things…’cause all things change. Thanks a bucket load for reminding me where I have been…oops, this must be a good piece. Yup.

  10. wow sounds like depression in the finest and it has set in so badly that they have no longer the will to live or go on and to even get out of bed. Great jog thanks for sharing
    http://gatelesspassage.com/2011/10/05/today%e2%80%99s-feelings/

  11. Guess, we all have gone through this phase. Although for some, fortunate/unfortunate souls the ‘phase’ seems to persist.

    At least it brings out wonderful poetry.

  12. This is really good and I enjoyed it immensely! Blessings, Terri

  13. so you write to get rid of that itch?

    http://zongrik.wordpress.com/2011/10/02/triolet-vi/

  14. life’s moments of trials make us feel depressive and deadlike-but hope is always there

  15. That’s a tough place to be–you expressed that feeling of hopelessness very well.

  16. As above, the positive aspect of these feelings brings good poetry. Your words prove that ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. Powerful words–can definitely relate. Well-done ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. Nice one I like it ๐Ÿ™‚

  19. Very depressing. Sorry you are in that space in your life. It makes for emotional poetry but very long days.

  20. short, powerful, and packed with energy to ‘break out’ …out of the ennui and malaise. me…your reader…feels sympathy for the speaker, and wishes for more…rooting for the speaker.
    So, your poem did the trick….affected your reader.
    good job.
    thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

 
